Being a Realist

Bitter is a word that has been used to describe me on more than once occasion as of late. I beg to differ with this description but opinions are like assholes, am I right? People are going to think what they want to think based off of what little information or no information in some cases, they have. So be it. What matters most is how I see myself and what I know to be true and all of my experiences have thankfully allowed me to hold steadfast to this realization.

The truth is that I have become quite the realist of sorts. When I consider that I used to be this unabashed, hopeful dreamer who believed that love could conquer all, I view my current position as major progress. I can also acknowledge how “bitter” might be perceived. That’s not to say that I do not still grapple between my hopes and dreams and what the majority of reality has shown me and that’s not to say that I don’t believe in love – I just know that love, in order for it to conquer all, has to begin with me. I have to love myself wholeheartedly, all flaws included, no exchanges or returns. That is when love can begin conquering all.

Furthermore, I don’t know a lot of people who having gone through the things that I’ve been through wouldn’t come out unscarred, approaching things with greater caution and sometimes, skepticism. I took the rose-colored glasses off a long time ago and I don’t owe a single soul any explanation for why I do or say the shit I do or say.

573c6e4b40a4267efb68036dc72e5648

Would love to hear from you!

