No Lie in My Fire

This made me think of you,” the six-word caption attached to the picture message read. At 10:55 a.m. this past Saturday morning, I received an unexpected text message that, to an outsider’s perspective, would appear to be just that – a text message. But this was no ordinary message – this message was a much more meaningful gesture presenting itself as every day communication.

Two of my favorite quotes were legible across the confines of my smart phone screen, one of which happens to be the cover photo of my Facebook account.

Charles Bukowski Quote
Charles Bukowski Quote

And the other, another Bukowski quote, that always serves as a reminder of my inherent strength.

Charles Bukowski Quote
Charles Bukowski Quote

Not only was this message a much-needed reminder at that particular moment but a realization that this man gets me.  For the first time in my life, someone sees me, and whether or not he understands, he accepts me for who I am.  Most importantly, it doesn’t make him want to run. It doesn’t make him want to turn his back on me in seek of “something greener,” “something better.”  He gets me and he wants to walk through the fire with me.

3 thoughts on “No Lie in My Fire

Would love to hear from you!

