I Would Walk Five Hundred Miles

I’d swim a river or two just to get to the next one,” the local bartender candidly proclaimed, referring to his desire to experience his next all-consuming love. We had gone from talking about his precious husky he had to lay to rest awhile back to the perilous yet worthy richness of having someone to love and to be loved.

His words were like coming up for air after deep sea diving; they were refreshing and unexpected. I often find myself alone in these sentiments save for a few close friends, mostly female. To hear a grown man state his urgency and longing to be in the arms of the next person he is meant to love made me feel a little less alone in this mind of mine that all too often feels like a desert.

Experience has hardened my edges a bit, creating a slightly cynical faith in humankind. I like to believe there is more good than evil, more polite than rude, more intelligent than dumb, more open minds than closed ones and while we’re at it, more liberal than conservative. Unfortunately, I often find myself doubting all of the above and then some.

Having unforeseen conversations with complete strangers like the one above considerably reinstates my, admittedly idealistic convictions. Being wealthy has nothing to do with bank accounts but with the amount of people we consistently give of ourselves to, the ones we love. Love truly does make the world go ‘round. Without it, life would solely be a bitch as the old adage goes. I believe that everyone – man, woman and child not only wants to love and to be loved but inherently needs this. I endeavor to believe that, in the end, we would all swim a river or two to drown ourselves in the revelry of the greatest blessing life has to offer, love.

One thought on “I Would Walk Five Hundred Miles

  1. Dear Lindsay, It seems like everyone says that love hurts, but that’s not true. Rejection hurts, loneliness hurts, losing someone hurts. It seems everyone confuses these things with love but the reality of it is love is the only thing in this world that covers up all the pain and makes us feel wonderful again. I am a quote junkie I love to collect them. Somewhere I did read that Love is a language spoken by everyone but understood only by the heart.
    I have not ever heard your voice or seen your face but through your writings I know you have a big loving heart. You are a special young lady and I hope we can meet face to face someday. Much love Joan

Would love to hear from you!

