Daddy’s Little Girl

A few years ago, I wrote an entire manuscript of poetry for a contest submission.  I thought I would share one of the poems within that manuscript as it relates so closely to my blog’s content.  I actually wrote the following intending for it to be a song and who knows?  Maybe one day, I will set the words to music.  Until then, I hope you enjoy.

DADDY’S LITTLE GIRL ©Lindsay Taylor, Ogad Music, 2009
Daddy’s little girl
Is all she ever wanted to be
Heard and seen
Is all she’d ever need
Until she became a teen
She had no idea
“Gina,” he said, “You are my queen,”
and papa, he said that he’d get clean
She had no choice but to believe
And she was let down, let down
She was let down, let down, repeatedly
Attention was the key
If only Gina could make him see
If only Gina could change some things
detach herself at the age of sixteen
But she’d already put in so much energy
“Gina,” he said, “You are my queen,”
and papa, he said that he’d get clean
She had no choice but to believe
And she was let down, let down
She was let down, let down, repeatedly
Daddy lacked at so many things
Gina battled with insecurity
Anxiety overwhelming
Hiding her feelings while loving the undeserving
Disappointed beyond belief
“Gina,” he said, “You are my queen,”
and papa, he said that he’d get clean
She had no choice but to believe
And she was let down, let down
She was let down, let down, repeatedly

Would love to hear from you!

