Like a Tornado

As I made my journey home through Griffith Park this evening and the cool, fall air filled my nostrils with welcomed nostalgia, I exhaled the day’s stresses.  I consciously released my unwanted anxiety into the premature nightfall, reveling in the soothing aroma of juniper mixed with the occasional, unpleasant stench of horse manure from the nearby stables.  I continued the peaceful drive through one of the largest urban parks in North America and I heavily meditated on my desire to do certain things differently in my “new life” as so many, including myself, have begun to coin it.

A dear friend recently said to me with great care, “Linds, you talk fast, you learn fast, you live fast…Everything you have always done is fast-paced.  You’re like a tornado, honey.”  She did not mean this in a derogatory way, whatsoever, and I really clung to her wise words because they couldn’t have been truer.  Her bringing this to my attention reminded me that I want to do things differently – that I need to do things differently.  This means slowing down because as she went on to proclaim, “This next year is going to bring a lot of growth for you.”  This growth will be better received and more beneficial if I cease to be this force of nature in very specific aspects of my life, if I learn how to be more patient – “Just be easy” as another beloved friend of mine recently advised.

I continued my lengthy commute home, feeling pleased with my self-recognition and then I heard it – the song on the radio, by Of Monsters and Men, that I’ve been obsessing over since the very first time I heard it.  My initial excitement stemmed from the fact that I simply love the song.  Half a second later as I stared at the red traffic light in front of me with grocery shopping errands in the back of my mind, it dawned on me – the title of this song is “Slow and Steady.”  Coincidence?  I don’t believe in them – never have.  I related to this song instantly and tonight, its timing was impeccable.  I placed my hands over my face in a “wow” moment of awe, smiled from ear to ear, expressed my gratitude to the Universe and even let out an audible giggle as I sung the words, “I move slow and steady / But I feel like a waterfall / Yeah, I move slow and steady / Past the ones that I used to know / And I’m never ready / ‘Cause I know, I know, I know / That time won’t let me / Show what I want to show…”

I am like a tornado – I am a violently rotating column of air that is in simultaneous contact with ground and sky and sometimes, I just need to learn how to remain grounded with my head toward the glorious sky.

2 thoughts on “Like a Tornado

Would love to hear from you!

