Thank You and Domestic Duties

I’ve been receiving a lot of amazingly encouraging feedback since I began this project and first and foremost, I’d like to thank all of you, those I know and those I do not, who are reading and enjoying all that I share.  Shout out to someone(s) in Zambia who is reading my blog on a daily basis – I just think that is so awesome that my words can reach out to the other side of the world, to an entire other continent!  This is truly shaping up to be an incredibly meaningful venture, in more ways than one, and I am grateful for every single one of you, those who have reached out and those who contentedly read in the privacy of their computer or smartphone.

A large percentage of the feedback that I am receiving is that of my stories causing tears and while that is inevitable, I’d like to try and make you laugh, or at least smile, a little bit more with this next short, but sweet anecdote.  Please let me know if I succeed.

Mowing a lawn has never been something I get excited about and believe me, those people are out there – my auntie being one of them.  The thought of pushing around a sharp blade-wielding piece of machinery in the hot, humid days of summer in the Midwest just never did it for me – no matter how much of a bronzed look I came away with.

My parents officially separated when I was fifteen years old.  My dad moved out of the house so it was just mama and I for a few years as my brother was away at college in Iowa.  This meant I had to take up some of the “manly” duties of the household and I’ll never forget the first time my mama asked me to mow the lawn.  It’s unforgettable, not because of the great disdain I had for the chore or because of the teenaged, smart-mouthed argument I likely caused beforehand but for my response when my mother added, “And you’ll need to get gas for it because I think it’s running low.”

I replied with sincere curiosity, “But where do I get gas for a lawn mower?” and with great emphasis on the word, “where.”  Needless to say, I was the laughing stock of the day.  My mama never let me live that one down and to this day, my auntie carries on the tradition of teasing me for it.

Would love to hear from you!

